Rhysling Nominations Are Open!

The 2017 Rhysling Award Nominations are now open! Nominations are due February 15th and can be made only by active members of the Science Fiction Poetry Association, so please be sure that your membership is in good standing.

Our Rhysling Award Chair this year is David Kopaska-Merkel, founding editor of Dreams and Nightmares Magazine, and a former president of the Science Fiction Poetry Association who brings over 3 decades of experience to the field of speculative poetry. We thank him for his service in coordinating this massive undertaking as we search for the best speculative poems of the year from across the globe. We look forward to his unique editorial vision and approach to overseeing the Rhyslings.


The Rhyslings were first established in 1978, named for the blind poet Rhysling in Robert A. Heinlein’s short story “The Green Hills of Earth.” Rhysling’s skills were said to rival Rudyard Kipling’s. In real life, Apollo 15 astronauts named a crater near their landing site “Rhysling,” which has since become its official name.

Winning works are regularly reprinted in the Nebula Awards Anthology from the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. Rhysling Awards are considered in the speculative literature field to be the poetry equivalent of the awards given for prose— achievement awards given to poets by the writing peers of their own field of literature.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s