Diversicon 25: Dreaming Silver, July 21-23rd

Members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Poetry Association will be attending the 25th Diversicon this year at Best Western Plus—Bandana Square at 1010 Bandana Boulevard West in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

Among the planned topics of discussion will be the formal announcement of the 2017 Rhysling Awards, with confirmed attendance by outgoing Star*Line editor F.J. Bergmann, SFPA President Bryan Thao Worra, and Vice-President Sandra Lindow, and anticipated attendance by several members of the SFPA in the Midwest. This year’s convention art was provided by SFPA member Nor Sanavongsay.

Diversicon is an annual speculative fiction (science fiction and fantasy, or SF) convention held the first weekend of August in the Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota area. Diversicon provides programming and social opportunities to encourage the multicultural, multimedia exploration and celebration of SF by those within and outside of the traditional SF community. Diversicon includes both live and posthumous guests. It is sponsored by SF Minnesota.

This year’s Guests of Honor are:

Eleanor Arnason, a Guest of Honor at Diversicon 1, has lived in Manhattan, Chicago, London, Paris, Washington DC, Saint Paul, and Minneapolis. Since 1973 she has published five novels and over 30 novellas, novelettes, short stories, and experimental short forms. Her fourth novel, A Woman of the Iron People (1990), won the James Tiptree, Jr. Award for gender-bending science fiction and the Mythopoeic Society Award for Best Adult Fantasy. Her Fifth novel, Ring of Swords (1995), won a Minnesota Book Award. Her most recent book is the collection Hwarhath Stories: Transgressive Tales by Aliens (2016).

Melissa Scott, a Guest of Honor at Diversicon 11, is the author of some two dozen science fiction and fantasy works, including several novels co-authored with her late partner, Lisa A. Barnett. Scott’s works are known for their elaborate and well-connected settings. While her works, with the exception of Shadow Man (1996), usually don’t deal directly with lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender themes, most of her protagonists are LGBT. She won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer in 1986, and has won several Lambda Literary Awards. Her novels include Trouble and Her Friends (1994), Dreaming Metal (1997) and The Shapes of Their Hearts (1998). She is also the author of Conceiving the Heavens: Creating the Science Fiction Novel (1997).

This year’s Posthumous Guests are John F. Kennedy (1917-1963) and Robert Bloch (1917-1994).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.