Elgin Award winners – 2017

The SFPA is pleased to announce the winners on this year’s Elgin Awards! So many great books and chapbooks! 51 to be exact – which makes this the largest pool since the award’s inception. Congratulations to all the winners!

Field-Guide-To-The-End-Of-The-WorldFull-Length Book Category

  • Winner: Field Guide to the End of the World • Jeannine Hall Gailey (Moon City Press, 2016)
  • Second Place (tie): A History of the Cetacean American Diaspora • Jenna Le (Anchor & Plume, 2016)
  • Second Place (tie): Small Spirits: Dark Dolls • Marge Simon (Midnight Town Media, 2016)
  • Third Place: Dead Starships • Wendy Rathbone (Eye Scry Publications, 2016)



Chapbook Categorylarge-cover-leviathan


  • Winner: Leviathan • Neil Aitken (Hyacinth Girl Press, 2016)
  • Second Place: Radio Heart, or; How Robots Fall Out of Love • Margaret Rhee (Finishing Line Press, 2016)
  • Third Place: Apocalypse • John C. Mannone (Alban Lake, 2015)

Many thanks to Josh Brown, the award chair this year, for his excellent work.

So, now, as we continue moving through 2017, reading all the exciting new genre chapbook and collections, please keep your favourites in mind when nominations open next January!

One thought on “Elgin Award winners – 2017

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.