Rhysling Award Voting Deadline: 6/22

As a final reminder: Time is running out to vote on the 2018 Rhyslings! Be sure to vote by midnight on June 22nd.  Our 40th anniversary winners will have a special surprise. Eligible members have been sent the pdf and link to voting in their email. If you have not received your link please contact sfpamembershipchair@gmail.com.

Each year, the SFPA publishes the Rhysling Anthology, comprised of works nominated by its international membership for the Best Poems of the Year. The Rhyslings were first established in 1978, named for the blind poet Rhysling in Robert A. Heinlein’s short story “The Green Hills of Earth.” Rhysling’s skills were said to rival Rudyard Kipling’s. In real life, Apollo 15 astronauts named a crater near their landing site “Rhysling,” which has since become its official name.

Winning works are regularly reprinted in the Nebula Awards Anthology from the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. Rhysling Awards are considered in the speculative literature field to be the poetry equivalent of the awards given for prose— achievement awards given to poets by the writing peers of their own field of literature.

The Rhysling Award will be presented at DiversiCon, in St. Paul (Bandana Square Best Western) by the SFPA. All members are welcome to attend the ceremony. This year’s theme is “Diversitopia” with Guest of Honor Charlie Jane Anders, and Special Guest Bryan Thao Worra, president of the SFPA. Diversicon’s Posthumous Guests are Madelein L’Engle, Theodore Sturgeon, and Phillip Jose Farmer.

2017 LindaAddison closeup selfie

We thank this year’s chair Linda D. Addison for her service. She is the award-winning author of four collections, including How To Recognize A Demon Has Become Your Friend, and the first African-American recipient of the HWA Bram Stoker Award, co-editor of Sycorax’s Daughters, an anthology of horror fiction & poetry by African-American women. Addison is a founding member of the writer’s group Circles in the Hair (CITH), and a member of HWA, SFWA and SFPA. You can visit her online at: lindaaddisonpoet.com.

This year’s cover artist was the legendary artist Rowena, an American artist known for her science-fiction and fantasy illustration, and is credited as one of the first female artists to impact paperback cover illustration. Her notable artist monographs included The Fantastic Art of RowenaImagine (in France), Imagination (in Germany), and The Art of Rowena and her work has also been included in a variety of anthologies including Tomorrow and Beyond and Infinite Worlds. The cover image is known as Dark Mermaid.

rhysling anthology


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s