Diversicon Schedule Announced

The Diversicon schedule in Minnesota has been announced.

On July 27th, we’re announcing the Rhysling Award winners there thanks to SFPA Vice-President F.J. Bergmann and our fellow SFPA members. Join us on Saturday for the major speculative poetry events in the program:

Saturday, July 27:
Noon-12:55 p.m., Mainstage (Soo Line Room)
Panel: The State of Speculative Poetry: 2019 which includes the announcement of this year’s Rhysling Awards for Speculative Poetry. F.J. Bergmann, mod.

1:00-1:55 p.m., Mainstage
Round Robin Poetry Readings. F.J. Bergmann, host; Eleanor Arnason, Ruth Berman, Phyllis Ann Karr, et al.

This year’s guest of honor is Nisi Shawl! Nisi Shawl is co-author (with Cynthia Ward) of Writing the Other: A Practical Guide (2005); the story collection Filter House (2008); the utopian alternative history novel Everfair(2012); over 70 stories in such markets as Analog, Asimov’s SF, Tor.com, Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror, #19 (St Martin’s Press), So Long Been Dreaming: Postcolonial Science Fiction and Fantasy (Nalo Hopkinson and Uppender Miha, co- eds.), and dozens of articles, essays, and reviews, including regular writings about books for the Seattle Times. She lives in the Seattle area.

This year’s special guest is Ben Huset, a lifelong promoter of space travel and space technology, through such organizations as the Minnesota Space Frontier Society. He writes, “Being a ‘Special Guest’ will be a chance for me to experience yet another part of MN SF fandom. Having been an attendee, press, dealer, panelist, concom member, department head, and Con Chair at other regional sci fi cons for over 35 years. I will try my darndest to be one of your best Special Guests.” He lives in the Twin Cities.

This year’s Posthumous Guests are:
Boris Karloff (1887-1969) played Frankenstein‘s Monster, Im Ho Tep, Hjalmer Poelzig, good and evil identical twins, General Pherides, Cabman Gray, The Grinch, and Byron Orlock.

Ursula K. Le Guin ( 1929-2018) wrote A Wizard of Earthsea, The Left Hand of Darkness, The Lathe of Heaven, The Dispossessed, The Language of the Night, Always Coming Home, and Catwings.

Harlan Ellison (1934-2018) wrote Repent, Harlequin, Said the Tiktok Man, I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream, Mephisto in Onyx, Keeper of the Purple Twilight, Demon With a Glass Hand, and The City on the Edge of Forever.

We’ll see you there! Go to www.diversicon.org for the most current schedule.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.